Hair today, gone tomorrow

During the first week of chemo when the nausea was so debilitating, the thought of losing all my hair was diminished slightly, getting through the next hour was a bigger priority. But now I’m in the 3rd week of the chemo cycle & as I’m feeling much better, I’ve got to face it head on 😂

So I’ve took a few deep breaths & here we go

Preparation is the key to having some control so I’ve bought several items of head wear, think more Johnny Depp than Hilda Ogden. And I have to say that hipheadwear is a fab online shop & livebetterwithcancer also have some great bamboo based products which are so soft.

Apparently within the first cycle of chemo, in my case each cycle is 3 weeks, there will be noticeable hair loss but then during the second cycle there’s no escape & it’s gone.

So where am I with the hair loss?

Day 16 in the chemo house & general body hair growth has either slowed down or stopped altogether. But the hair on my head is moulting like no-ones business! If I run my hands through my hair a handful of hairs come away at a time & unlike normal hairs that come away these are dead i.e. they do not have any roots attached to them.

Also no lipstick 💄 on my pillow in the mornings just loads of hairs!

So I needed to sort out a wig & had an appointment for day 17. Now the NHS wigs for West Yorkshire are from a rather good wig shop in the Victorian Quarter, Leeds so I had high hopes of a decent wig. Top tip is to pick a monofilament wig as the construction gives the look of real hair growing from the scalp.

‘Pick a wig day’ arrives & I have to say it went really well. I’ve come away from my Orthotics appointment at St Luke’s with a fabulous monofilament wig with a lace cap (double bubble apparently), in a lovely bob style called Dream Deluxe – it looks the dogs…!

I’ve even got a follow up appointment at the wig shop for tomorrow when they will cut a fringe in the wig & they will also cut my rapidly disappearing hair. Now when I say cut my hair I’m actually meaning that I’m going to brave the shave, as the constant hair loss is so disheartening & let’s be right it ain’t going to get any better soon.

So I just need a little bit of courage…

Judy x